28-Day Detox / Kitchen Creations

28-Day Whole Living Detox: Day 4

This….20120510-212201.jpg

becomes this….

20120510-212307.jpgand is scrumptious.

Spiced Butternut Squash and Apple Soup — it’s light and simple and smooth.  I forgot how much I had enjoyed this the first time around.  What’s even better is that I can freeze half of it and still get multiple meals out of it.

Today I’m pleased to note that the headache has eased a bit, which was much needed because yesterday was rough.  I had some herbal tea when I would normally have had coffee this morning and I think that really helped.  I’m sure part of it is psychological, but regardless it was nice to have something warm to hold and something to help me ease into the morning.

I’m starting to really isolate a few (more) things that I know my body doesn’t like– basically within twenty minutes of eating them.  The past few days I haven’t had the digestive pain that comes after eating and have even started to feel the bloating begin to subside… until I throw a handful of almonds in my mouth because of the hunger is doing a dance in my stomach.  When I was first told nuts were likely a huge proponent to my digestive issues, I had the most difficult believing it; and yet, here I am confirming the wisdom.  Blah.  Another trigger?  Whole flax seed.  I’m better with ground flaxseed, but struggle when it is in its natural, seed form.  From what I can tell, this is pretty common.

Tomorrow I am off to visit family for the weekend and am growing nervous about my ability to stick to the detox amongst the celebration.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

