28-Day Detox / Kitchen Creations

28-Day Whole Living Detox: Day 14

I went out to eat!!! For the first time since the detox began, I ate a meal that was prepared by my own two hands!  I was at an event with a friend and we had an hour and a half break for lunch.  There’s was no way I could not eat (I was starving) so I knew I would be sticking with a salad.  We ended up at California Pizza Kitchen of all places (I thought I was doomed) only to find myself thrilled.  The restaurant just added a new salad to their menu:  Roasted Vegetable.

Roasted artichoke hearts, asparagus, eggplant, red & yellow peppers, corn and sun-dried tomatoes served warm over Romaine tossed with homemade Dijon balsamic vinaigrette. Topped with avocado.

I added grilled shrimp to my order and requested dressing on the side.  When they brought the salad out it looked delicious, but one look at the dressing and I wasn’t convinced I could have it, so I figured I’d rather be safe than sorry and did without.   Good news:  it didn’t even need it.  I was so, so pleasantly surprised, not to mention ecstatic that I was able to keep completely within the bounds of phase two.  Best news of all?  The entire thing (I ordered the half) – shrimp included – was under 400 calories according to the website.  Of course, I’m sure that includes the dressing, which again, I didn’t have so it was likely substantially less than that.  Either way, it was great.  I was thrilled to be dining with a friend and it completely made my day!

Breakfast: Baked sweet potato with cinnamon and citrus
Lunch: 
Roasted vegetable salad
Dinner: 2 stalks celery with 2 tablespoons crunchy almond butter (no sugar) and a cup of strawberries

Leave a Reply

