28-Day Detox / Kitchen Creations

28-Day Whole Living Detox: Day 18

I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy to cook an egg as I was this morning. Like I’ve said before, I need some variety in my morning and this was a happy one.

20120528-194050.jpg

Morning Medley
1 tbsp unsweetened almond milk
2 organic, cage-free eggs
1/2 heirloom tomato, diced
1 handful arugula
Salt and pepper

1.  Whisk eggs and milk together. Pour into pre-heated skillet.
2.  Cook on low, stirring often.
3.  Mix in tomato and arugula.
4.  Cook another minute or two, as needed.
5.  Salt and pepper to taste.

I was so pleasantly reminded how wonderfully long eggs can keep one full this morning.  And as an equally pleasant surprise, I didn’t have any digestive issues/ pain after eating them.  Perhaps this is obvious, but the trick, I find, when entering a new phase is to add the foods one at a time.  This way you can explicitly gauge how your body reacts to different foods.  What does it handle?  What is too much?  Are you able to identify this (in my case) as a new trigger? To such an end, this was the only food I introduced today, and I was happy to find (thus far) I handle eggs with no issue!

I made another venture to a restaurant today.  The next few days are going to get realllly tricky as I am hosting friends who are here for Memorial Day weekend.  I am determined to stick to the detox, which will be easier now that I’m in Phase 3, but still no walk in the park.  Case in point: The challenges have already begun.  I took them to dinner at one of my favorite spots for tacos, Taco Joint, and it was a big challenge to stay within the parameters.  To the best of my knowledge, everything I had was within the scope of phase 3, but I’m sure there was added butter and hidden ingredients in things.  While I’m not thrilled, I’m really not, I do think it is a realistic taste of what life actually is. I tried my very best and even refrained from having a glass of sangria, wine or a cold beer though the rest of the table was drinking, so while a few ‘off-limits’ ingredients no doubt slipped in, I’m pleased with my effort and my commitment.

Breakfast: Morning Medley, see above for recipe
Lunch: Grapes with a few pistachios (work was crazy and I ended up only having time to really pop a few grapes)
Dinner:  Taco Joint (veggie and fish tacos, corn tortillas)

Leave a Reply

