28-Day Detox / Kitchen Creations

28-Day Whole Living Detox: Day 19

Today was a goooooooooooodd day. I stayed within the boundaries, realized just how much I’ve missed quinoa (especially for breakfast!), and am heading to bed feeling on top of the world because I stayed completely within the parameters of the detox while showcasing the city. I stretched myself by including new ingredients (and therefore additional nutrients) to old recipes, which is arguably one of my very favorite things to do. I love to see how I can create food I love to eat with the biggest, most complex nutritional profile possible. Today I feel as though I did that. Take a look!

Breakfast: Breakfast Quinoa with almond milk, cinnamon and almonds, inspired by Jessica’s recipe. I substituted the coconut milk simply because I didn’t have it, but I’m sure that would be good, too (her recipes are always great).  Despite having to fight the odd yet persistent urge to heat it, this breakfast eats like a cereal.  I, of course, added some chia seed for an extra boost.

20120528-213119.jpg

Lunch: A modification of Phase 1’s Kale Slaw with Red Cabbage and Carrots salad.  I added leftover radishes and used romaine instead of kale (it’s much better with kale!) because I needed to use it up.  Although I ate it, I liked it much better the original way.

20120528-213125.jpg
Dinner: YUM. This is from another fabulous Chicago find: Native Foods Café.  Native Foods is a vegan restaurant that makes everything from scratch using organic and local ingredients.  I know, it sounds like it’s a yuppy, high price point place, but that couldn’t be farther from the truth.  The atmosphere is very casual and the staff delightful.  Tonight I got the Rockin’ Moroccan Bowl:  Tofu marinated in our homemade Moroccan sauce with grilled veggies and quinoa. Topped with currants and toasted almonds.  Word to the wise, bring your appetite.  That bowl is deceiving large!

20120528-213159.jpg

One thought on “28-Day Whole Living Detox: Day 19

  1. Pingback: 28-Day Whole Living Detox: Day 21 | A City in Colour

Leave a Reply

