28-Day Detox / Kitchen Creations

28-Day Whole Living Detox: Day 20

What I learned today…
1. How to poach an egg!! Eeeeek! I could have eaten this breakfast 4x over.

20120530-230041.jpg
After picking up asparagus from the farmer’s market, I used them to make a concoction of a breakfast that included quinoa, grilled asparagus and heirloom tomatoes topped with a poached egg. We both know very little tops Farmer’s Markets on a Saturday morning. Check out the goods.

20120530-230050.jpg

2. Always double, triple check that you get what you ordered. I picked up a pizza place specifically because I know it has a gluten-free crust and pizza sounded good to the friends – I even ordered mine with veggies, no cheese! Although it was yummy, I found out afterwards a last minute switch was done for a whole wheat crust. Do you know what that means? I broke the detox without even making a conscious ever to do so. I was really bummed, I was. But I know it’s not the end of the world.
3. I realized today, I honestly haven’t noticed that many positive benefits of the digestive enzymes. If anything, I’m noticing the opposite of what I hoped for…. more on that later.
4. In the sake of transparency, No. 2 wasn’t the only time I broke the detox today. Friend was dying for Mediterranean so we stopped into a favorite falafel place for lunch. It did not disappoint. I did take aims to eat as little of the pita as possible, but I did eat it.

On a more serious note, what I am coming to appreciate in this detox is to reject the mentality of “throwing in the towel,” or, in plainer terms, rejecting the idea that just because I slipped today that I should just toss aside the past 19 days where I’ve fought hard for ever single meal; or, worse still, that I should toss aside the next 7 because I’ve already broken the detox. Sure, I could do that, but to what end? I think that really, ultimately, perpetuates bingeing. It really does – at least in my life. So, while I am disappointed, this has been a great opportunity to keep things in perspective and challenge an unhealthy pattern I have held for far too long. Yes, I did eat something I wasn’t supposed to at lunch, but you know what? I didn’t go crazy for the rest of the day. In fact, I was back at it, on the horse, by dinner time IN SPITE of Friend stopping to get ice cream from my favorite spot and enjoying its goodness as we walked down the street on a summer day.

I practiced a healthier tendency today and make progress in making it a habit. This has proven to be the biggest lesson I learned today and one that I think I would have not learned to the same degree if not for the detox.

A good day indeed.

2 thoughts on “28-Day Whole Living Detox: Day 20

  1. Smooth 8 Alkaline Antioxidant Water is the best way to detox and get rid of stored acids and chemicals in the body

    Smooth 8 Alkaline Antioxidant Water Will:
    Neutralize stored acids and toxins
    Bring the body to its natural pH balance.
    Detoxify and prevent the cells from premature aging.
    Provide the body with powerful antioxidants
    Eradicate free radicals that can damage cells.
    Help prevent skin blemishes and irritations.

  2. Smooth 8 Alkaline Antioxidant Water is the best way to detox and get rid of stored acids and chemicals in the body. 100% chemical and preservative free

    Smooth 8 Alkaline Antioxidant Water Will:
    Neutralize stored acids and toxins
    Bring the body to its natural pH balance.
    Detoxify and prevent the cells from premature aging.
    Provide the body with powerful antioxidants
    Eradicate free radicals that can damage cells.
    Help prevent skin blemishes and irritations.

    smooth8.com

Leave a Reply

