Madrid

25S, a day of protest

I’ve heard more helicopters today than I’ve heard in ages.  They’ve been flying over my building and neighborhood to cover the massive protests that started today in Madrid.  Essentially, protests that started against austerity measures and Spain’s economic state have developed into mass disillusionment with the government.  Under the notion that democracy has been kidnapped, protesters gathered near Madrid’s parliament building to demonstrate their opposition.  Thousands turned out. (El País estimates more than 6,000 participants.)

Sadly, the entire day was not peaceful.  I was not at the protest so I do not know the full scope of possible provocation, but  I find the images of police behavior hard to stomach.

This is what one Spanish friend said to me (in English) about today.

Are you watching what’s going on?
Ooh, a bit! It’s pretty close to me!
Sad…
Do you disagree?
No, no.  I agree.  But it’s sad to see how my country is going who knows where…

Check out the links below, including a link to the realtime video feed, for more inclusive write-up than what I’ve just provided.

BBC coverage (English): http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-19712203#TWEET240345
El País coverage (Spanish): http://politica.elpais.com/politica/2012/09/24/actualidad/1348515446_560081.html
Direct feed: http://www.rtve.es/noticias/directo2/

Featured image from El País.

5 thoughts on “25S, a day of protest

  1. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing for your feed and I am hoping you write again soon!

  2. Pingback: Friday Fun | A City in Colour

  3. Pingback: 14N, in preparation | A City in Colour

  4. Pingback: Month Three | A City in Colour

Leave a Reply

