Madrid / Musings

Confession

So I am about to write the silliest, most embarrassing confession and if I don’t hurry up and type as fast as my little fingers can manage I know I’ll think better of it and chicken out from telling all my invisible internet friends just how proud I am of myself and my improving language skills… from ordering a pizza…. from Dominos {blush}… late, late, late on a Friday evening.  Uh yeah.  I know. Don’t you dare judge me.

BUUUUTTTTT seriously! I am proud of myself.  I called I think mostly to just see if I could do it and if they couldn’t understand or I got overwhelmed I figured I’d just hang up.  But that moment never came.  In fact, the whole exchange went flawlessly.  I even inquired about their specials!

I know this sounds idiotic and nothing to be proud about– an American ordering pizza from Dominos in Madrid? Right? I know, all kinds of classy– but, well, I am proud.  I am proud that I even called and I didn’t let the fear of messing up keep me from trying; I’m proud that I was able to do it; I’m proud that I proved myself wrong when I doubted.

Sure, it’s a silly example to be proud of, but it’s these kinds of things that are tangible to the person living abroad and fighting to find her life in a different language. Nearly every hour of every day I see where and how I still need to improve my language skill.  I should have said this or Anna, c’mon!, you know that verb tense or Of course! I know that word!  But this, as silly as it may seem, is one of those rare moments where I feel fully student; and rarer still, a student who can sit and simply smile, recognizing the progress she is making. That makes me happy and that’s important.

3 thoughts on “Confession

  1. I am sooooooooooooo proud of you and what you have accomplished!!! Silly to be proud? I don’t think so. To be able to contact someone in a foreign land, speak their language clearly enough to get yourself something to eat? Again…….I am soooooo proud of you. Love you Sweetness………..Gram

  2. Pingback: Month Three | A City in Colour

  3. Pingback: Sevilla | A City in Colour

Leave a Reply

